Department Of Behavioral Sciences

The Behavioral Sciences Department has eight members of academic staff: two Associate Professors, three Lecturers and three Assistant Lecturers. These members have backgrounds in training and experience in research providing a great resource for the department’s input into teaching, research and service provision at the University.

The department is mainly engaged in teaching the undergraduate and postgraduate students in Environmental Health Sciences, Medicine, Dentistry and Nursing.


The department runs two postgraduate programs:

  1. Master of Science in Behavior Change (MSc. BC) and
  2. Master of Science Behavioral Change Communication for Health (MSc. BCC)

Furthermore the Department runs two Short Courses:

  1. Strategic Planning for Behavior Change and
  2. Qualitative Research Methods.

Members of the department are also involved in running several short courses offered by the University. Major research foci include reproductive health; social and behavioral aspects of diseases; HIV and key populations; Human Rights and health, health costing and financing and human resource for health.

The department collaborates with several Universities including University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania; Radboud University, Netherlands; Heidelberg University, Germany; Karolinska Institute, Sweden; Makerere University, Uganda; University of Minnesota, U.S.A.; University of Oslo, Norway; University of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and Moi University, Kenya. The department has major plans to strengthen the Medical Anthropology, Health Economics and Learning Disability Services sub-disciplines through research and training.

Contact US

P.O. Box 65015
Dar es Salaam
Tel: Direct: +255 22 2153371, Tel : +255 22 2150302-6 (Ext. 1281 Dean, 1282 OMS)
Fax: +255-22-2150465