Short Courses

Research Methodology Training Course

Financing and Financial Management of the District Health Services Course (DHS)

Quality Improvement and Leadership in Health Systems and Services Course

Monitoring and Evaluation of HIV/AIDS Course

Data Management Course

Ethical Issues in African Health Research Course

Paediatrics Tuberculosis Course

Introductory Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Genetic Epidemiology

Who's Online

We have 6 guests and no members online

Department of Environmental and Occupational Health.

The Department of Environmental and OccupationalHealth started in July 2008 from the Department of Community Health. The Department focuses on training, research and consultancies in Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences, all with the aim of improving the quality of the environment in which human being live and work. Currently with 11 academic staff members (3 Senior Lecturers, 3Lecturer and 5 Assistant Lecturers). The Department aims at producing experts who will work towards reducing Environmental and Occupational Health risks, thus promoting health and reducing burden of diseases and injuries.


Department Of Development Studies.

The Department of Development Studies (DS) is one of the five departments within the School of Public Health and Social Sciences (SPHSS) of Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences (MUHAS). There are ten members of academic staff including; 1 Associate Professor, Senior Lecturer, 3 Lecturers and 3 Assistant Lecturers and 2 Tutorial Assistant. Six (6) of them having acquired PhDs from various re-known Universities across the world thus bringing home a wealth of skills,


Department Of Behavioral Sciences

The Behavioral Sciences Department has eight members of academic staff: two Associate Professors, three Lecturers and three Assistant Lecturers. These members have backgrounds in training and experience in research providing a great resource for the department’s input into teaching, research and service provision at the University.

The department is mainly engaged in teaching the undergraduate and postgraduate students in Environmental Health Sciences, Medicine, Dentistry and Nursing.


Department Of Epidemiology And Biostatistics.

The Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics contributes to the vision of the University through teaching, research and consultancy. Currently, the department has two professors, four senior lecturers, four lecturers and one computer technician.

Training: Epidemiology and Biostatistics are core subjects taught to all undergraduate and postgraduate students at the university. The department also hosts two postgraduate programmes at the University in collaboration with the Ministry of Health and Social Welfare: Master of Science in Applied Epidemiology; and Master of Science in Epidemiology and Laboratory Management.


Department of Community Health

The Department of Community Health conducts most of its work out of two separate Units: the main unit at MUHAS campus, Dar es Salaam is concerned with theoretical teaching and research, while the smaller unit in Bagamoyo, traditionally known as Bagamoyo Teaching Unit (BTU), is used as a practicum site. However, due to increased student enrolment at the University, the department is currently using districts in the neighbouring Coastal regions as practicum sites for Community Medicine Rotation.


Department Of Parasitology And Medical Entomology.

The Department of Parasitology and Medical Entomology was first established under the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Dar es Salaam in 1970 as one of the departments in the Division of Community Medicine.  The department was divided into two units: the main department was located in the Faculty of Medicine campus while the Service Unit was located in the Central Pathology Laboratory of the then Muhimbili Referral Hospital.


Contact US

P.O. Box 65015
Dar es Salaam
Tel: Direct: +255 22 2153371, Tel : +255 22 2150302-6 (Ext. 1281 Dean, 1282 OMS)
Fax: +255-22-2150465